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Extending the Period: The Philosophy Behind the Rule 
 Recently the extension of a period (Rule 3-2-3) has been a topic of active 
discussion across the football landscape.  My purpose here is to give the philosophy and 
purpose of the rule.   
 One can get a hint of the philosophy by looking for the common element in 
those circumstances where the period is extended.   The thing they have in common is 
this: in every case the down just played is repeated.  Offsetting fouls, accepted penalties 
(not including loss of down), and inadvertent whistle—all of these have the down 
repeated.  In the case of the inadvertent whistle, there are some other elements that 
come into play, but repeating the down is an outcome of several possibilities.   
 When the down is going to be repeated, that really means that it has not yet 
been resolved.  Put another way, there is some unfinished business to take care of 
before the period is over.  And the “do-over” of that last play is what is required to wrap 
up that period, to bring it to a close.   So we say that we extend the period---and we do 
that to take care of that unfinished business: the down that needs to be repeated. 
 Given that philosophy, it should be easy to see why the period is not extended 
when there is an offensive foul whose penalty calls for loss of down.  Remember that 
“loss of down” is shorthand for “loss of the right to repeat the down.”  So with regard to 
extending the period, since there will be no repeat of the down, then the business of the 
period has been taken care of; hence there is no reason to extend the period--it is truly 
over, there is no unfinished business, and we move on to the next period.  Of course, if 
this takes place in the second or fourth period, the half is over. 
 There is one little wrinkle that needs clarifying.  Suppose the clock runs out 
during a down in which there is a personal foul by Team B.  The penalty will be tacked 
on at the basic spot and the period will be extended for Team A to run a play on first 
down.  At first blush it looks like the down is not being repeated.  But is really is, since it 
is unfinished business that needs to be taken care of, even though the number of the 
down is not what it would have been.  The same thing is true for a foul that doesn’t 
include an automatic first down but does leave the ball beyond the line to gain.  The 
repeated down is first down, because of other rules that determine the number of the 
down. 
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 Finally, consider the situation that has generated so much discussion: the clock 
runs out during a fourth-down play during which Team A commits a foul whose penalty 
includes loss of down.  The ball goes over on downs.  If this happens in the first or third 
period, Team B next puts the ball in play after the change of period, to either second or 
fourth.   
 Many people push back against not extending the second or fourth period in this 
case, claiming that it “deprives Team B the right to snap the ball.”  But you can see that 
no such right exists, given the spirit and intent of the rule for extending.  That is, 
extending the period is not about running another play; instead, it is about finishing up 
the business of the period by extending it so that the previous down can be repeated, 
and hence resolved. 
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