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TARGETING FOUL: CROWN-OF-HELMET INTERPRETATION 

 
 Recently some rulings on the field have created concern about the use of the 
term “crown of the helmet” relative to Rule 9-1-3.  Effective immediately, Rule 9-1-3 is 
amended to read as follows.  The new language is in bold, and the word “top” has been 
deleted.  Rule 9-1-3 now reads in its entirety: 
 

“ARTICLE 3.  No player shall target and make forcible contact against an 
opponent with the crown of his helmet.  The crown of the helmet is the 
portion of the helmet above the level of the top of the facemask.  This 
foul requires that there be at least one indicator of targeting (See Note 1 
below).  When in question, it is a foul.” 
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